Ukraine: Will not vote in Eurovision 2019 – Won’t take part in 2020 if Russia wins in Tel Aviv!

A special press conference was held today by the chairman of the Ukrainian National Broadcaster, Zurab Alasania and Oleksandra Koltsova, Chief of Entertainment Department, on the country’s withdrawal from Eurovision 2019 as well as Ukraine’s short-term plans for the contest in general.

Ukraine will not vote in Eurovision 2019

Zurab Alasania said there is not an extra fine from EBU, because Ukraine’s withdrawal took place before the meeting of the Heads of Delegations in Tel Aviv. The only obligation for the Ukrainian Broadcaster is to pay the participation fee for the broadcasting rights of the contest.

Ukraine will broadcast both semi-finals and the final live, but will NOT vote, although according to the regulations it has the right (see Serbia-Montenegro 2006 case).

Also, the strong man of the Ukrainian public television clarified that the Russian entry in Eurovision 2019 will be properly broadcasted, as specified in the regulations.

Return to Eurovision 2020 unless Russia wins

Zurab Alasania clarified that Ukraine will return to the contest in 2020, unless Russia wins this year with Sergey Lazarev. In this case, Ukraine will prolong its abstention for another year, without even this time transmitting the contest.

As regards public service co-operation with the STB, the intention is to continue the co-operation with the joint organization of Vidbir. In the event that Ukraine does not return in 2020 due to a possible Russian victory in Tel Aviv, then the national final will be held again with the title “The best song of Ukraine”, without of course being given the right to the winner to represent the country in Eurovision.

Finally, both stated that Vidbir’s regulations and terms should be made clearer, since this ambiguity brought this impasse.

source: ESCKaz

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *