Russia: Back vocalists are revealed

Since the announcement of Sergey Lazarev as Russia’s representative for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019, day by day we get new information about the Russian delegation, and now it’s time for the vocals! As the whole Dream Team is gathered in Moscow for their rehearsal, the backing vocalists informed us about their arrival through their Instagram accounts!

So, in stage of Tel Aviv, Sergey will be accompanied by four Swedish singers, Jennie Jahns, Adam Svensson, Simon Lingmerth and Erik Segerstedt. Jennie Jahns and Adam Svensson have already perfomed with Sergey back in Eurovision Song Contest 2016. Especially, Jennie Jahns has worked as backing vocal for the Azeri delegations in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017. Simon Lingmerth is a freelance performing artist, who’s been working in show business, with successful concepts as Sunwing Resorts, Wallmans Salonger and the biggest entertainment show in Sweden – Melodifestivalen (Eurovision Election). Erik Segerstedt became popular as the runner-up to Markus Fagervall on the third season of Swedish version of Idol 2006. In 2013, Segerstedt entered Melodifestivalen 2013 with the duet “Hello Goodbye” with Tone Damli in a bid to represent Sweden in the Eurovision Song Contest. The duo came fourth in the second heat and qualified to the Second Chance round held where they finished in fifth place.

Sergey Lazarev and these four vocalists will be guided by the vocal coach Alex Panayi, who has already worked for the Russian delegation in 2016. He’s a Cypriot singer, composer, lyricist, producer, vocal coach, and vocal arranger. He is best known for having represented his country twice at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1995 & 2000.

Alex’s involvement with the Eurovision Song Contest includes:

  • Backing vocals for the 1989 Cypriot entry “Apopse As Vrethoume”;
  • Performing the song “Pistevo” in the first Cypriot national Final in 1990. (3rd place);
  • Backing vocals for Elena Patroklou in the 1991 Cypriot entry “SOS”;
  • Performing the song “Gia Sena Tragoudo” in the Cypriot National Final 1993 (3rd place);
  • Soloist and composer for the Cypriot entry “Sti Fotia” in 1995;
  • Performing the duet, “Fterougisma” with Marlen Angelidou in the Cypriot preselection of 1998 (2nd place);
  • Performing in the vocal duo Voice with Christina Argyri for the 2000 Cypriot entry “Nomiza”;
  • Vocal director and backing vocalist for Helena Paparizou in the song, “My Number One” which won the 2005 contest.
  • Stage director for Fabrizio Faniello, Malta, with the song “I do” – vocal coach for the Greek entry “Everything” Anna Vissi in 2006 Eurovision Song Contest held in Athens, Greece
  • Performing the song “There Is Love” in the Cypriot National Final 2009 (6th place);
  • Vocal director and backing vocalist for Sakis Rouvas in the 2009 Greek entry “This Is Our Night”
  • Producer for the song “Hamogela” by the group “triimitonio” in the Greek National Final 2011 (2nd place);
  • Vocal director and backing vocalist for the song “We Are The Heroes” by LITESOUND for Belarus in ESC2012;
  • Vocal director for the entry of Azerbaijan “Hold Me” (2nd place) and Belarus “Soleyo” in ESC2013
  • Vocal director for the entry of Russia “Shine” and Belarus “Cheesecake” in ESC 2014
  • Composer, English lyricist, producer for the entry of Cyprus “I pio omorfi mera” at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2014
  • Vocal director for the entry of Belarus “Time” in ESC 2015
  • Vocal director for Sergey Lazarev and Russia in ESC 2016
  • Vocal director for Greece and Azerbaijan at the ESC of 2017 in Kiev
  • Vocal director for Alekseev -Belarus, Aisel – Azerbaijan, and Doredos, Moldova in Lisbon ESC 2018

text: Christ Sipsa

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *