Estonia: The remaining 12 candidates for Eesti Laul 2020

Estonia’s public broadcaster has also announced the remaining 12 candidates for the Eesti Laul 2020, who will compete in the second semifinal. Unlike the names of the first semifinal, there are no audible appearances here, making this semifinal theoretically easier than the first.

During the ETV program, “Ringvaates”, the remaining 12 names, titles and composers / lyrics from the 24 total Eesti Laul 2020 entries are as follows:

-“Sorry Sorry. I Messed Up ”Uudo Sepp (Andrei Zevakin)
-“Georgia (On My Mind)” Egert Milder (Kaspar Kalluste, Matteo Capreoli, Egert Milder)
-“Heart Winder” German & Violina (Timo Vendt, Ebbe Ravn, Carine-Jessica Kostla, Liis-Marii Vendt)
-Janet “Hingelind” (Marek Rosenberg, Lauri Lembinen, Kadri Lepik and Janet Vavilov)
-“Kapa Kohi-LA” Wieners (Peter Põder, Hardo Hansar, Martti Kask)
-“Kirjutan Romaani” Revals (Jaanus Saago)
-Synne Valtri feat. Outdoor harp (Synne Valtri, Jaanus Viskar, Toomas Laur, Gert Gregor Källo, Aapo Ilves)
-“Miljon sammu” by Merilin Malik (Jonas Olsson, Teemu Jokinen, Jana Hallas, Merilin Malik)
-“Only Dream” INGER (Inger Fridolin, Karl-Ander Reismann)
-Jennifer Cohen’s “Ping Pong” (Jennifer Cohen, Luisa Lõhmus)
-“Right Time” INGA (Peter Põder, Allan Kasuk, Raul Krebs, Inga Tislar)
-“Write About Me” Anett x Fredi (Frederik Küüts, Anett Kulbin)

The first semifinalists are:

-Jaagup Tuisk “Beautiful Lie” (Jaagup Tuisk)
-“Break Me” by Laura, (Janne Hyöty, Jessica Hyöty, Laura Põldvere)
-“By My Side” STEFAN (Karl-Ander Reismann, Stefan Airapetjan)
-Ziggy Wild’s “Lean On Me” (Laura Prits, Valdur Viiklepp, Sander Nõmmistu, Henri-Hannes Sell)
-“Leelo” Kruuv (Allan Kasuk)
-“Out In Space” SHIRA (SHIRA and Karl-Ander Reismann)
-“Unistustes” Mariliis Jõgeva (Mariliis Jõgeva, Oliver Mazurtšak)
-“Videomäng” Renate (Renate Saluste)
-“What Love Is” Uku Suviste (Uku Suviste, Sharon Vaugh)
-“Without a Reason” Little Mess (Ebbe Ravn, Timo Vendt, Mihkel Mattisen, Tanja Mihhailova-Saar)
-“Üks cord veel” Traffic (Victor Crone, Fred Krieger, Vallo Kikas, Stig Rästa)
-“Young” Rasmus Rändvee (Karl-Ander Reismann, Rasmus Rändvee)

Although in the second semifinal we will see returns of some previous Eesti Laul finalists, such as INGER, Synne Valtri and Jennifer Cohen, the names of this semifinal are by no means comparable to those of the former. All this, of course, on a theoretical level, since we haven’t heard the songs yet, since we’ll have to wait until 30/11 and 1/12 to get publicity.

The semifinals will take place on February 13 and 15 in Tartu, while the grand final will be traditionally held at Saku Suurhall in Tallinn, where Eurovision 2002 took place. Tickets are already on sale. Eesti Laul 2020 will be presented by Karl-Erik Taukar and Tõnis Niinemets.

Eesti Laul, the Estonian selection method, has been in use since 2009. The winners of this institution have awarded some of its most successful entries in the country – including: Urban Symphony (2009), Kuula (2012), La Forza (2018).

Victor Crone was the winner of Eesti Laul 2019 and Estonia’s representative at Eurovision 2019. He performed “Storm” on Tel Aviv’s  stage and took 20th place.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *