Cyprus: With Elena Tsagrinou and “El Diablo” at Eurovision 2021 – CYBC’s announcement!

The Cyprus Radio Broadcaster (CYBC) made an official announcement today, for the country’s representative in the Eurovision Song Contest 2021, who is none other than Elena Tsagrinou!

Pleased and excited to announce our 2021 Entry:

Elena Tsagrinou

Elena Tsagrinou is one of the most talented and…

Δημοσιεύτηκε από CYBC: Eurovision Cyprus στις Τρίτη, 24 Νοεμβρίου 2020


The Cypriot team for Rotterdam

As it became known a while ago on the morning show of RIK1, Elena Tsagrinou will compete in Eurovision 2021 with the song El Diablo! The 26-year-old Greek Elena Tsagrinou was selected after an internal selection. El Diablo is signed by Thomas Stengaard, Laurel Parker, Jimmy Joker and Oxa, all very important composers with hits inside and outside Eurovision.

Already yesterday, according to our secure information and as you first read through Eurovision Fun, there were advanced discussions with an artist belonging in PANIK Records, in order to represent Cyprus in May in Rotterdam.

In the summer, in an interview with the Cypriot magazine Hello, she stated that she is ready and of course interested in participating in Eurovision, either with Greece or Cyprus. In addition, in 2019 she was among the artists that were rumored for representing Greece!

Who is Elena Tsagrinou?

Elena was born on November 16, 1994 in Athens. From a young age she was involved in music and attended a Music High School. In 2009, she participated in the ANT1 talent show “Greece got talent”. In the summer of 2013, she was auditioned by the band OtherView (after the departure of Krystallia) for the position of singer. In the same year, Elena participated in the MEGA music show, “Just The 2 Of Us” as coach of Ivan Svitailo.

In the 2016-2017 season, she was a backstage presenter on SKAI’s talent show, The Voice of Greece. From 2018 follows a solo career. She has released several successful singles, while she has many collaborations with the hottest Greek names such as Konstantinos Argyros, Demy, Panos Kiamos, Anastasios Rammos, Melisses, Tamta. She is a fresh face of the music industry and is one of the youngest rising singers of the pop scene and without a doubt she can stand worthy on the stage of Eurovision, since apart from a very good voice she also has an impressive presence.

“El Diablo”‘s composers

CYBC has also come up with the song, managing to have as creators of this year’s entry, a very strong team of composers. Once again, the Cypriot team that deals with the contest, proves its dedication and love to the Eurovision project, hoping that in Eurovision 2021, the entry of Cyprus will cause a sensation and will leave the best impressions!

El Diablo is signed by Thomas Stengaard, Laurell Barker, Jimmy Joker and Oxa. Thomas Stengaard was one of the creators of Only Teardrops, Denmark’s winning song at Eurovision 2013. Laurell Barker was behind five Eurovision entries. Switzerland in 2018, the United Kingdom, Germany and Switzerland in 2019 and Poland in 2020. He has also participated several times in the Melodifestivalen, but also in other national finals. Jimmy Joker has collaborated with literally all the big names in the world music scene (Lady Gaga, One Direction, Marc Anthony etc). He has even won a Grammy Award for his collaboration on Pitbull album Dale.

We remind you that CYBC has already announced as artistic director of its entry in the next contest, the Austrian, Marvin Dietmann, who was responsible for the stage presentation of both the winning entry of Austria in Eurovision 2014 with Conchita Wurst, but also the winning song in the juries voting of Austria in Eurovision 2018 with Cesár Sampson.

We can only wish “Good Luck” to the Cypriot team and Elena Tsagrinou for the best result in Rotterdam!

Stay tuned in EurovisionFun, for all the news regarding the Cypriot entry in Eurovision 2021.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *