Sweden: Anna Bergendahl, Tone Sekelius, Theoz and Cazzi Opeia are the four finalists of the Second Chance Semi-Final of Melodifestivalen 2022!

Ninety minutes ago, the show of the Fifth Semi-Final of Melodifestivalen 2022, started off on SVT and SVT Play. And we have been watching the whole show, right from the arena of the venue and we are here to share the results of the night with you!

The four qualifiers are Anna Bergendahl, Tone Sekelius, Theoz and Cazzi Opeia and we will get to see them perform their songs live, on the 12th of March, when the finals will take place at Friends Arena.

But how things developed during the night?

The show

Oscar Zia is the host of the night and as previously reported, all the shows for the national selection procedure of the Swedish representative for this year’s contest in Turin take place exclusively in Stockholm and as already announced, semi-finals one to three took place at the Avicii Arena, while semi-finals four and five as well as the grand final are held at Friends Arena.

Oscar is at the arena and everything is ready to begin! It’s time to face the music! Farah Abadi is always by his side, covering the backstage, discussing with the artists and doing the introduction videos of the performers.

What about the performances?

Group A

  • Tone Sekelius – “My Way

It is worth noting that it is confirmed that Tone tonight, got lit by the colours of Ukraine, as she wanted to pay tribute to the country, show her support and encourage people to donate by calling the donation number of SVT for the purpose. Tone is a finalist!

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

  • Alvaro Estrella – “Suave

As Alvaro has disclosed to us, Christos Gontevas who is of Greek origin, was one his backing vocalist for his number, this year!

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

  • Danne Stråhed – “Hallabaloo

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

  • Anna Bergendahl – “Higher Power

That is what Anna calls, “the second of a trilogy of songs“, after “Kingdom Come” which was her entry for Melodifestivalen 2020! Qualified from Group A straight to the finals!

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

Group B

  • Theoz – “Som du vill

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

  • Lisa Miskovsky – “Best to Come

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

  • Lillasyster – “Till Our Days Are Over

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

  • Cazzi Opeia – “I Can’t Get Enough

photo:SVT/Annika Berglund

The Intervals

Arvingarna opened the show with their 1993 Swedish entry at the Eurovision Song Contest called “Eloise” and they were full of positive energy!

Apart from Arvingarna, we then had Lionman paying a small tribute to Peter Himmelstrand, a Melodifestivalen icon for many decades, who sadly passed in 1999. He sang “Alla Har Glömt“, a Towa Carson song that Peter had written back in 1967.

Following Lionman, Mariette (Melodifestivalen 2015, 2017, 2018, 2020), joined on stage and enchanted us with her magical voice, singing the almost classical song Symfonin“, a Melodifestivalen entry of 1990 by Loa Falkman that came last this year  (10th out of 10).

Next number was Arja Saijonmaa, Finnish singer that has competed twice at Melodifestivalen, once in 1987 and once more in 2019! She sang her 1987 Melodifestivalen entry “Högt över havet“!

Arvingarna also closed the night with their uplifting energy flooding the arena and the crowd that attended the show at Friends Arena tonight!

The Process

The voting system of Melodifestivalen had been changed by SVT, starting from this year. We won’t have any duels anymore. Two songs of each of the above two performance groups, four in total, will qualify to the final show, next Saturday March 12.

The aggregate results are going to be announced, compared to the rest of the semi-finals where we also had announcement of the votes from each viewer age group.

The verdict

Here are the finalists of Melodifestivalen 2022 and we will get to see them all compete with eachother at Friends Arena, on the 12th of March!

  • Cornelia Jakobs – “Hold Me Closer
  • Robin Bengtsson – “Innocent Love
  • Liamoo – “Bluffin
  • John Lundvik – “Änglavakt
  • Anders Bagge – “Bigger than the Universe
  • Faith Kakembo – “Freedom
  • Klara Hammarström – “Run to the Hills
  • Medina – “In i dimman
  • Anna Bergendahl – “Higher Power
  • Tone Sekelius – “My Way
  • Theoz – “Som du vill”
  • Cazzi Opeia – “I Can’t Get Enough”

See you next Saturday, covering the Final Show live on-site, directly from Friends Arena, when you will get the chance to be informed about who will eventually represent Sweden at Eurovision Song Contest 2022, at the very moment they are announced! 

Who are you rooting for? Tell us in the comments below!

Stay tuned at EurovisionFun, for all the latest developments regarding Sweden’s entry for Eurovision 2022!

Source: SVT
Photos: Annika Berglund/SVT

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *