Sweden: Loreen returns in Melodifestivalen 2023!

A huge suprice was announced earlier by Aftonbladet for Eurofans, as the winner of Eurovision 2012, Loreen, is getting ready to return in Melodifestivalen 2023!

Based on the article, Loreen got super excited with the song they proposed to her but she didn’t want to compete in Melodifestivalen for the fourth time. Besides “Euphoria“, she competed in 2011 with the song “My heart is refusing me” and in 2017 with “Statements“, when she didn’t even manage to get to the finals.

However, the singer decided, eventually, to do a come back with the song that is written by the composers of her winning athemn, Peter Boströ and Thomas G:son, among with Jimmy “Joker” “Thörnfeldt”, composer of “Voices” (Sweden 2021) and “El Diablo” (Cyprus 2021).

The artists that have confirmed their participation in Melodifestivalen 2023 so far

  1. Nordman
  2. Loulou Lamotte
  3. Wiktoria Johansson
  4. Marcus & Martinus
  5. Emil Henrohn
  6. Theoz
  7. Melanie Wehbe
  8. “Smash into pieces”
  9. Panetoz
  10. Tennessee Tears
  11. Elov & Beny
  12. Paul Rey
  13. Maris Sur
  14. Ida-Lova
  15. Victor Crone
  16. Loreen

The schedule of Melodifestivalen 2023

  • Heat 1: Gothenburg, February 4th 2023 (Scandinavium)
  • Heat 2: Linköping, Feburary 11th, 2023 (Saab Arena)
  • Heat 3: Lidköping, February 18th, 2023 (Sparbanken Arena)
  • Heat 4: Malmö, February 25th, 2023 (Malmö Arena)
  • Heat 5: Örnsköldsvik, March 4th, 2023 (Hägglunds Arena)
  • Grand Final: Stockholm, March 11th, 2023 (Friends Arena)

We remind you that Melodifestivalen was scheduled to happen from February 4th until March 11th, with the hosts  Jesper Rönndahl and Farah Abadi, while SVT has received 2824 songs. The final list of participants will be revealed during November or December.

In Eurovision 2022, Sweden was represented by Melodifestivalen 2022 winner, Cornelia Jacobs, with the song “Hold Me Closer” and finished fourth with 438 points.

Source: Aftonbladet

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *