Norway: These are the contestants of Melodi Grand Prix 2023!

A short while ago, Norway’s public television, NRK, announced the artists who are going to participate in this year’s Melodi Grand Prix in order to compete for the country’s representation at Eurovision 2023 in Liverpool!

The 21 artists have been selected since November and have been divided into three semi-finals as follows:

First Semi-Final

  1. Ulrikke Brandstorp – “Honestly
  2. Erik Næss – “Wave
  3. Kate Gullbrandsen – “Tårer i paradis
  4. Rasmus Thall – “TRESKO
  5. Alessandra Mele – “Queen of Kings
  6. Byron Williams Jr & Jowst – “Freaky For The Weekend
  7. Umami Tsunami featuring Kyle Alessandro, Kristian Haugstøyl & Magnus Winjum – “Geronimo

Second Semi-Final

  1. Sandra Lyng – “Drøm d bort
  2. JONE – “Ekko Inni Meg
  3. Swing’it – “Prohibition
  4. Ella – “Waist
  5. Alejandro Fuentes – “Fuego
  6. Bjørn Olav Edvardsen – “Turn Off My Heart
  7. Elsie Bay – “Love You in a Dream

Third Semi-Final

  1. Skrellex – “Love Again
  2. Tiril Beisland – “Break It
  3. Akuvi – “Triumph
  4. Atle Pettersen – “Masterpiece
  5. Eline Thorp – “Not Meant to Be
  6. Maria Celin – “Freya
  7. Stig van Eijk – “Someday

Among the artists we see MGP 2020 winner Ulrikke who had confirmed her return to the music competition a long ago, as well as MGP 1987 winner Kate Gullbrandsen, Elsie Bay who was one of the most talked about entries for MGP 2022 and MGP 1999 winner Stig van Eijk.

As a reminder, this year’s Melodi Gran Prix will be quite different from the previous ones, as there will be no duels or second chance rounds. Three artists will qualify from each semi-final in which only the Norwegian TV audience will vote, while the final will for the first time since 2019 feature an international jury that will determine 50% of the result.

The songs will be published each Monday before the semi-final in which they are to compete. Melodi Grand Prix 2023 will take place at the Spectrum in Trondheim with Arian Engebø and Stian Thorbjørnsen as presenters. The schedule is as follows:

  • First Semi-Final: January 14th
  • Second Semi-Final: January 21st
  • Third Semi-Final: January 28th
  • Grand Final: February 4th

Previous MGP winners and Norway’s representatives at Eurovision 2022 were Subwoolfer with their song “Give That Wolf a Banana” and finished 10th in the Grand Final, continuing the country’s qualification streak for the fifth year.

Stay tuned to Eurovisionfun for all the news regarding Norway’s participation in Eurovision 2023, in Liverpool!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *