Iceland: Söngvakeppnin 2023 Grand Final tonight!

Grand Final today for Söngvakeppnin 2023, the process through which Iceland is called upon to select its entry for the upcoming Eurovision 2023.

Broadcast live from the RVK studios, the land of ice and fire is called upon to choose the artist that will represent Iceland at the 67th Eurovision Song Contest.


Five artists take part in tonight’s Grand Final of Söngvakeppnin 2023, vying for the ticket to Liverpool. These artists are:

  1. Sigga Ózk – “Dancing Lonely”
  2. BRAGI – “Sometimes the World´s Against You”
  3. Celebs – “Doomsday Dancing”
  4. Diljá – “Power”
  5. Langi Seli og Skuggarnir – “OK”


A total of 10 songs will take part in Söngvakeppnin 2023 after being selected by the relevant RÚV jury. Five songs will take part in each of the two semi-finals, with the best two from each semi-final advancing to the Grand Final. After the semi-finals, the judges have the right to use a wildcard, on one of the six artists who did not qualify.

In the two semi-finals, the result will be decided solely by public vote, while in the final there will be a combined public and jury vote to decide the two songs that will advance to the Super Final. There, the Icelandic public has the ultimate say in choosing the country’s next representative.

The presenters of Söngvakeppnin 2023 are Unnsteinn Manuel Stefánsson, Ragnhildur Steinunn Jónsdóttir and Sigurður Þorri Gunnarsson.

The first semi-final of Söngvakeppnin 2023 will start at 20:45 CET and will last one and a half hours. You can watch it through the RÚV website by clicking HERE.

Until we find out who will represent Iceland at Eurovision 2023, let’s remember the country’s participation in last year’s contest. The previous winners of Söngvakeppnin and Iceland’s Eurovision 2022 representative were Systur with the song “Með sárkandi sól” and they finished in 23rd place in the Grand Final:

Stay tuned to EurovisionFun for all the developments concerning Iceland in the Eurovision Song Contest!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *