Eurovision 2024: SVT has announced the main team for the contest!

Following the deadline for cities to submit proposals for the Eurovision Song Contest 2024, which will be held in Sweden, the team behind the organisation of next year’s contest has been revealed.

Sweden’s public broadcaster, SVT, has announced the executive team that will be responsible for organising the 68th Eurovision Song Contest. Following Loreen’s historic win in Liverpool, the contest will be held in one of the four cities, as they have put in a bid to host the contest. The cities bidding to host the contest are Stockholm, Malmö, Gothenburg and Örsnköldsvik. During the summer we will know which city will host the contest.

SVT’s newly appointed executive producer Ebba Adielsson said:

“I am very proud and excited for this extraordinary mission and I can finally present the first key roles and the leadership of the main team that will be leading the Eurovision Song Contest 2024. It is impossible to find a more experienced trio in this context and it is extremely reassuring to have them together on these giant and very complex productions.”

Ebba will temporarily step down from her role as SVT’s head of entertainment to focus on the contest duties with overall responsibility for Eurovision 2024. The people who will be part of the main team are as follows:

Christel Tholse Willers is the Executive Producer responsible for communications, press, branding and the event in collaboration with the host city. Christel had a similar role when Malmö hosted the Competition in 2013 and has a solid background in Melodifestivalen, where she is the Executive Producer.

Tobias Åberg is responsible for the overall technical production as Executive Production Controller and was also part of the core team in 2013 and 2016. Since then, he has served as Head of Production or Technical Expert on Eurovision Song Contest productions for the last eight years.

Johan Bernhagen, together with Martin Österdahl, was Executive Producer for the competition in 2016 and Head of Production in 2013. This time, he will be Executive Producer and responsible for finances and overall technical production together with Tobias Åberg.

A short while ago, the EBU announced the new chairman of the Reference Group on the contest. Bakel Walden, who is currently working as Director of Development and Bidding at the Swiss state channel SGR. Bakel’s CV is quite enriched, as he has also worked as Head of Planning and Programme Development at the Greek channel Alpha TV between 2009 and 2012.

Speaking on his appointment, Bakel said:

“I am honoured to have been selected as the new President of the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group. The Eurovision Song Contest is an iconic event that has been bringing people together for nearly seven decades, and I am thrilled to join the team at a time when the contest has never been more popular and exciting. I look forward to working with the members and relevant reference group stakeholders to promote this unique event on digital media, while ensuring that the competition continues to be a celebration of music and diversity that unites the world.”

Sweden has won the 67th Eurovision Song Contest, marking its seventh victory in the contest with 583 points. Below you can watch the performance after Loreen’s victory was announced:

Source:  και EBU

Follow us in all our social media, so that you’ll not lose a thing of what’s happening Eurovision:

Stay tuned to EurovisionFun for all the news about Eurovision 2024, which will be hosted in Sweden next May!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *