Finland: Aksel will announce Finland’s 12 points!

Today YLE revealed who will announce the 12 points for Finland. The Finish jury’s results will be announced by Aksel Kankaaranta.

Aksel Kankaanranta was Finland’s representative for the cancelled Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam. He won UMK 2020 with the song “Looking Back”. Aksel went on to compete in the Finnish national selection Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu once again in 2021 where he finished fifth.

Also, Eurovision 2022 spokespersons have been announced for the following countries:
  • Austria – Philipp Hansa
  • Belgium – David Jeanmotte
  • Bulgaria – Janan Dural
  • Croatia – Monika Lelas Halambek
  • Finland – Aksel
  • France – Élodie Gossuin
  • Georgia – Helen Kalandadze
  • Greece – Stefania
  • Italy – Carolina Di Domenico
  • Iceland – Árný Fjóla Ásmundsdóttir
  • Ireland – Linda Martin
  • Lithuania – Vaidotas Valiukevičius
  • Montenegro – Zombijana Bones
  • Netherlands – Jeangu Macrooy
  • Slovenia – Lorella Flego
  • Spain – Nieves Álvarez
  • Sweden – Dotter
  • Ukraine – Kateryna Pavlenko
  • United Kingdom – AJ Odudu

Follow us on all social media, so you do not miss a moment of what will happen in Turin:

Stay tuned at Eurovisionfun for all the updates regarding Eurovision 2022!


Finland: Listen to Aksel’s song for UMK 2021!

The Finnish broadcaster YLE released the fourth song of UMK, the country’s national final for Eurovision 2021. It is the song of Aksel, Hurt.

Hurt is a powerful but sensitive ballad and you mention how deceptive it can look.

Aksel Kankaanranta was born on January 28, 1998 in Turku, Finland. He was the winner of UMK 2020 and the representative of Finland at the Eurovision 2020 Song Contest in Rotterdam with the song Looking Back. Although his victory last year did not take him to Rotterdam, it gave him other opportunities, such as working with the best producers in Finland where he also released a song in Finnish. Aksel believes he is better prepared and ready to regain his throne as Finland’s next representative in the Eurovision Song Contest.

One may look okay on the outside, but one could still have terrible pain on the inside. When you are in pain, you also end up with those you love. I have had this experience, so I can really identify with this message. My song is also a reminder that you do not need to be anyone but you, Aksel concludes.

The seven artists who will claim the golden ticket to Rotterdam are:

Oskr – Lie
Teflon Brothers x Pandora – I Love You
Danny – Sinä päivänä kun kaikki rakastaa mua
Laura – Play
Aksel – Hurt
Blind Channel – Dark Side
Ilta – Kelle mä soitan

The songs that will compete in the grand final of UMK 2021, which will be held on February 20, will be announced one every day, as follows:

January 14 – Oskr – Lie
January 15 – Teflon Brothers x Pandora – I Love You
January 18 – Danny – Sinä päivänä kun kaikki rakastaa mua
January 19 – Laura – Play
January 20 – Aksel – Hurt
January 21 – Blind Channel – Dark Side
January 22 – Ilta – Kelle mä soitan

Stay tuned to EurovisionFun for all the news regarding Finland’s participation in the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest to be held in May in the Netherlands.