Netherlands: Jacqueline Govaert and Jaap Reesema are the new members of the selection comitee for Eurovision 2024!

After the addition of Jacqueline Govaert and Jaap Reesema, the jury of AVROTROS for Eurovision 2024 is now complete. Together with the president Twan van de Nieuwenhuijzen as well as Carolien Borgers, Hila Noorzai, Cornald Maas and Sander Lantinga, they will choose the artist and the song that will represent the Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 in Sweden!

Singer-songwriters Jacqueline Govaert and Jaap Reesema bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the panel. Both are in contact with various Dutch artists and producers, so that the country’s music industry can be properly represented. Both artists have delivered several hits, written and produced many songs for other artists, and are completely up-to-date on what’s happening in the global music industry.

The head of delegation, Twan van de Nieuwenhuijzen, said that:

“Through our conversations, I know that Jacqueline and Jaap always enjoy following the Eurovision Song Contest and are highly motivated to recognize that one rock-solid song that can conquer all of Europe and the rest of the world. Many unknown and well-known artists have already registered. Now that the selection committee is complete, I am even more looking forward to the final choice that we will make together.”

Jacqueline Govaert said after being added to the jury panel:

“Hearing a good song sung well for the first time has something magical about it. I am really looking forward to listening to the submissions together with the other committee members and finding the perfect song!”

In the end, Jaap Reesema, stated:

I really like the opportunity to contribute to the creation of great international success for a Dutch product. Watch the winning song ‘Arcade’ by Duncan Laurence. It now has more than 1 billion Spotify streams, unprecedented! The Eurovision Song Contest can do that for a song and for an artist. I am convinced that we have enough talented, creative people in the Netherlands to take the win again and I will dedicate myself 100% to make that happen! 

Artists, composers, lyricists, producers and record labels can still register until Saturday 30 September. The aim is to make the final choice by mid-December at the latest.

Mia Nicolai & Dion Cooper represented the Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest 2023, but they failed to qualify for the final, leaving the country out, for the first time since 2016: