Netherlands: Jan Smit leaves Eurovision Selection Committee

Dutch presenter Jan Smit has officially decided to leave the Eurovision selection committee.  The committee has been in charge of the preparations of the country for Eurovision.  Smit was part of the Eurovision selection committee for ten years.

Jan Smit was one of the Eurovision presenters during the Eurovision Song Contest 2021.  He is also well-known for his role as the Dutch Eurovision commentator.  Jan communicate his decision to broadcaster AVROTROS in November 2022.  However, the news was not made public until very recently.  There were some speculations regarding Smit’s departure including his alleged opposition to the selection of Mia and Dion as the Dutch representatives.  Nevertheless, Mr. Jan Smit has denied these rumours.

Jan will continue working as the Dutch commentator for Eurovision 2023.  He will be joined by Cornald Maas, who is also a member of the selection committee.

Mia Nicolai and Dion Cooper will represent Netherlands in the Eurovision Song Contest 2013.  They will perform in the second half of the first Semi-final.

You can watchour reaction by the Eurovisionfun team to their song Burning Daylight in the video embedded below

Stay tuned to Eurovisionfun for more news about Netherlands in the Eurovision Song Contest 2023!


The Netherlands: The hosting trio just announced: Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Jansen and Jan Smit

It was announced just minutes ago that Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Jansen and Jan Smit will be the main presenters of the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in May in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.


Edsilia Rombley represented the Netherlands at the Eurovision competition in 1998 and 2007, and is a renowned artist in the country. Together with Edsilia will be Chantal Jansen, a well-known country presenter and actress, as well as Jan Smit, a singer and member of the band “De Toppers”, who represented the Netherlands at the 2009 contest.

The Netherlands is gearing up for the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest, which will take place on Dutch soil after 40 years. Stay tuned to EurovisionFun for all the developments related to our favorite competition.



The Netherlands: Searching for Eurovision 2020 representative begun

In addition to preparation of the 65th Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam next May, Dutch public television has also begun searching for its next representative.

The Netherlands will choose its next participation by internal selection, as since 2013 with this system it manages to qualify for the final (except 2015) and is usually high on the scoreboard.

Jan Smit revealed to us through a post that the committee set up by Dutch public television to choose the next Eurovision representative held its first hearing.

The Committee consists of:

Coen Swijnenberg – Dj
Sander Lantinga – Dj
Joyce Hoydelmans – Member of the competition mission since 2014
Eric Van Stade – General Manager of Avrotros
Cornald Maas – Contest commentator
Jan Smit – Contest commentator

In recent days, it was announced that internationally renowned DJ Armin van Buuren rejected Avrotros’s proposal to represent the Netherlands in the 2020 Eurovision contest.

Duncan Laurence, with the song “Arcade”, managed to bring the event to the Netherlands for the first time since 1980.