Denmark: Aura Dione enters DMGP? | More rumoured artists!

It seems like there will be real stardust over the competition when DR gets to host DMGP on 17 February. According to reports by Ekstrabladet, the Danish singer Aura Dione will be one of the eight artists who will fight for a place at the at this year’s Danish national selection process. It has been more than 20 years since television viewers first became acquainted with Aura Dione and her distinctive voice.

Who is Aura Dione?

The now 38-year-old singer was just 16 years old when she first tested her talent in the TV2 program PopstarsIn 2008 she made her debut with the album Columbine, and in 2011 Before the Dinosaurs was released, and six years later Can’t Steal the Music was her next release. In 2022, her latest album, Life of a Ranbow, was released.

Good Evening Europe also made an extensive editorial of potential names that will somehow be involved in this year’s DMGP, as performing artists or even as song-writers.

Potential DMGP names

  • Emmelie de Forest (Denmark 2013, winner)
  • Basim (Denmark 2014, 9th)
  • Jonas Rasmussen (Denmark 2018, 9th)
  • Svea S
  • Nicklas Sonne
  • Tim Schou (Denmark 2011, frontman of A Friend in London, 5th)
  • Esben Svane
  • Søren Bregendahl (C21) (Denmark 2016, Lighthouse X, disqualified)
  • Sada Vidoo
  • Simone
  • Sander
  • Kedde
  • UBLU
  • Clara Sofie (songwriter)
  • Andreas Odbjerg
  • Aura Dione

You might have noticed a few well-known names in the list above. Let’s see dive into more detail for some of them.

Emmelie de Forest

Emmelie is Denmark’s most recent Eurovision winner and remains still relevant to Eurovision by taking part in fan events and Eurovision concerts. After Loreen took the double in 2023 and won Eurovision 11 years after her first victory, Emmelie can try do the same in 2024, 11 years after her first victory in the same arena as the last time that Emmelie was crowned in when she won in 2013.


Cliche Love Song brought Basim to 9th place in the world’s biggest music competition in 2014 and since then he has co-written hits like “Hvor er du bro?’” and “Sydpå” for the singer Bro. He is now rumoured to be returning in DMGP 2024, in the hopes of representing Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest to be held right across the canal, in Malmö, Sweden.

Jonas Rasmussen

Rasmussen was took part in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018 with the song “Higher Ground“, won the competition and went on to represent Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal on 12 May 2018, where he placed 9th overall with a score of 226 points.

Tim Schou

Tim is the former frontman of A Friend in London and together with the rest of the band, Tim achieved a nice 5th place in Denmark in 2011 with the song “New Tomorrow“. This year Tim is rumoured to be coming back at DMGP but as a solo artist.

Søren Bregendahl (C21)

Søren won the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix in 2016 as part of the trio Lighthouse X and represented Denmark the last time Sweden hosted with the song “Soldiers of Love” but failed to qualify to the finals.

Next week, all eight contestants will be presented in the music competition, and on 17 February, Denmark will find a Eurovision contestant who could hopefully secure a place in the final of the world’s largest song competition.

Stéphanie Surrugue and Sara Bro will host Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2024.

Source:, Good Evening Europe

Follow us in all our social media, so that you’ll not miss anything regarding the Eurovision Song Contest: