Junior Eurovision 2020: Is the list of participants the final list?

EBU has announced the countries that will participate in Junior Eurovision 2020. While the list includes only 13 countries, according to esc-plus, the EBU is open to the participation of more countries, although the date for confirmation of participation has expired.

EBU wants more entries

In the comment given by the EBU to esc-plus, they state that this is not the final list of countries that will participate in this year’s contest, since it is possible to confirm the participation even now.

The list of participating broadcasters we released today is not necessarily the final one – indeed, we would welcome other countries for JESC 2020, up to 20 broadcasters.

EBU for the number of Junior Eurovision 2020 countries

Safety against COVID-19

Given the current reality due to the pandemic of Covid-19, the Polish organizers decided to hold the show in a different way this year.

Its presentation and Interval Acts will take place in a studio in the Polish capital, while all participants will present their song in a studio located in each country.

In order to ensure the meritocracy of the institution, the members of the EBU and the 13 broadcasters agreed to use a similar stage layout to present all the entries.

The 13 participants

The 13 countries that confirmed their presence in Poland at the end of November are:

  • Armenia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Agriculture
  • Spain
  • Kazakhstan
  • Belarus
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Ukraine
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Serbia

This will not be the first time a country has been added to the participating countries. Perhaps the fact that participants will not have to travel to Poland will give new impetus to some broadcasters that had declined due to the pandemic and travel restrictions.

Source: esc-plus
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *