EBU: Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling Steps Down as Chairperson of Eurovision Reference Group

Dr. Frank-Dieter Frieling will no longer be the Chairperson of the Reference Group for the Eurovision Song Contest.  Dr. Frieling has been the chair of the reference group since 2009.

As the chair person he has been in  the middle of some of the most significant changes in the contest including the invitation to participate for Australia and the changes in the voting system and announcement of the results that took place in 2016.

The announcement was confirmed by the European Broadcaster Union through their social media:

Eurovision Reference Group

The Reference Group for the Eurovision Song Contest is the executive Committee for all Members, its purpose being to control and guide the Eurovision Song Contest (ESC).  Dr. Frank-Dieter Frieling was the Chairperson of the Reference Group from 2009 until 2023.  As the Chairperson, Dr. Frieling had a neutral role since he was the Director of International Affairs at German broadcaster ZDF which does not compete in the Eurovision Song Contest.

According to the EBU these are some of the most important functions of the reference group

  • Approving the development and future format of the ESC
  • Modernizing the brand and raising awareness of the ESC
  • Overseeing the yearly preparation by the Host Broadcaster

Stay tuned at EurovisionFun for all the latest news regarding the Eurovision Song Contest 2024!

Follow us on all social media, so you do not miss a moment of what is going on in Liverpool:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *