Netherlands: Jan Smit leaves Eurovision Selection Committee

Dutch presenter Jan Smit has officially decided to leave the Eurovision selection committee.  The committee has been in charge of the preparations of the country for Eurovision.  Smit was part of the Eurovision selection committee for ten years.

Jan Smit was one of the Eurovision presenters during the Eurovision Song Contest 2021.  He is also well-known for his role as the Dutch Eurovision commentator.  Jan communicate his decision to broadcaster AVROTROS in November 2022.  However, the news was not made public until very recently.  There were some speculations regarding Smit’s departure including his alleged opposition to the selection of Mia and Dion as the Dutch representatives.  Nevertheless, Mr. Jan Smit has denied these rumours.

Jan will continue working as the Dutch commentator for Eurovision 2023.  He will be joined by Cornald Maas, who is also a member of the selection committee.

Mia Nicolai and Dion Cooper will represent Netherlands in the Eurovision Song Contest 2013.  They will perform in the second half of the first Semi-final.

You can watchour reaction by the Eurovisionfun team to their song Burning Daylight in the video embedded below

Stay tuned to Eurovisionfun for more news about Netherlands in the Eurovision Song Contest 2023!


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *