Australia: Listen to Andrew Lambrou’s new song for Australia Decides 2022!

A few hours ago, another song of the national selection process of Australia “Australia Decides 2022″, was released. As Andrew Lambrou has been teasing us for quite a while already, his song called “Electrify” was to be released this Friday 11 February.

The song is already out on YouTube and you can listen to it below:

  • Andrew Lambrou – Electrify

Who is Andrew Lambrou

Andrew Lambrou is 23 years old, lives and works in Sydney. He writes and performs his own songs, starting at the age of five.

At the age of just 17 years old, he impressed all four judges of  XFactor Australia, and he advanced to the next stage quite easily. He received amazing feedback by the XFactor judges and global megastars – Danii Minogue, James Blunt, Chris Isaak, Guy Sebastian – Andrew got through the first phase with four YESes, after he’d performed “Chains” by Nick Jonas.

At the second phase, the one of five seat challenge, the coach of the boys under 25, Chris Isaak, had to choose just five of the guys to move on to the next phase. Andrew sang “Ain’t nobody” by Chaka Khan secured his place at the Top 5.

It’s worth noting that Andrew Lambrou was already well known, long before he took part in the XFactor Australia, as he was used to uploading videos of him doing song covers of massive worldwide hits, on his YouTube Channel.

Sadly, when he reached the phase of Super Home Visits, he was not lucky enough to advance to the Top 3 and take part in the live shows. This was due to him being too young and not experienced enough, at the same time. However, music industry moguls such as Simon Cowell commented on him really positively.

Do you wish to know more about Andrew? You can get to know him better at his extensive and exclusive interview for EurovisionFun, by clicking HERE!

Already known song titles

Mid of January, in a previous article we had reported that the first song titles for Australia Decides 2022 had been revealed, as some candidates had announced the title of their songs that will compete to represent Australia in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.

Some of the song titles already revealed prior to the release of the actual song are:

  • Seann Miley MooreMy Body
  • Sheldon Riley – Not the Same
  • G-Nat!on –  Bite Me

Known acts competing at Australia Decides 2022

Eleven acts will compete to be the next Australian Eurovision representative.  The participants for the next Australia Decides are:

  1. Isaiah Firebrace, Evie Irie – When I’m With You
  2. Jaguar Jonze – LITTLE FIRES
  3. Paulini – We Are One
  4. Andrew Lambrou – Electrify
  5. Sheldon Riley –  Not the Same
  6. G-Nat!on –  Bite Me
  7. Sean Miley Moore – My Body
  8. Voyager Australia – Dreamer
  9. Charley – I Suck At Being Lonely
  10. Jude York – I Won’t Need to Dream
  11. Erica Padilla 

The process

The eleven acts will compete at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Center on February 26 to represent Australia at Eurovision 2022. Australian broadcaster SBS decided to use Australia Decides as their national final after the success of  their national final.

Radio producer and presenter Myf Warhurst and comedian Joel Creasey will present the Australian national final.  Moreover, Creasey will be the SBS Eurovision commentator in May 2022.

Montaigne won the most recent edition of Australia Decides with the song “Don’t break me”.  Unfortunately her entry could not participate in Eurovision due to the cancellation of the competition in 2020.

She represented Australia in 2021 with “Technicolour”. You can watch her 2021 performance in the video embedded below:

Stay tuned at Eurovisionfun, for all the latest developments regarding the Australia Decides and the Australian entry for Eurovision 2022!
Source: SBS
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *